By Mark Nobes, chief editor

Victim Of Love was Erasure's sixth single release and the third to be lifted from the synth duo's second album The Circus. Released on May 18th 1987, the song was a remix of the original album version and entered the UK singles chart at #23 on May 24th. The single climbed to its peak position of #7 the following week - while Whitney Houston was at No.1 with "I Wanna Dance with Somebody (Who Loves Me)" - before falling to #8 on the June 7th chart. 

The song also reached #7 in Ireland, #4 in Sweden, #22 in Switzerland and #26 in Germany.

As always (apart from cover versions, of course!) the song was written by the band members Andy Bell and Vince Clarke.

In the video, the boys appear to be in some kind of attic - maybe a barn? It's a pretty depressing location, but the song is more uplifting, thankfully.

The 7 inch vinyl B-side featured the track "The Soldier's Return" (3:05). 

Erasure Victim of Love 7

7 inch vinyl sleeve front


7" Vinyl (UK) - MUTE 61

1. "Victim Of Love" (Remix)  3:38

2. "The Soldier's Return"  3:05

12" Vinyl UK - 12 MUTE 61

1. "Victim Of Love" (Extended Mix)  6:59

2. "The Soldier's Return" (The Return of the Radical Radcliffe Mix)  5:00

3. "Victim Of Love" (Dub Mix)  3:29

12" Vinyl UK - L12 MUTE 61 (Limited Edition)

1. "Victim Of Love" (Vixen Vitesse Mix)  5:42

2. "The Soldier's Return" (The Machinery Mix)  4:16

3. "If I Could" (Japanese Mix)  3:40

CD Single UK - CD MUTE 61

1. "Safety In Numbers" (Recorded Live)  1:28

2. "Victim Of Love"  3:26

3. "The Soldier's return" (The Return of the Radical Radlciffe Mix)  5:00

4. "Victim Of Love" (Dub Mix)  3:29

5. "Don't Dance" (Recorded Live)  3:53

6. "Leave Me To Bleed" (Recorded Live)  3:42

ERASURE Victim Of Love (1987 German 3-track limited Blue Marbled Vinyl 12

ERASURE Victim Of Love (1987 German 3-track limited edition 12" single)