by Mark Nobes, chief editor

Produced by Martin Scorsese, "Bad" was the most expensive music video of the 1980s, costing a whopping $2,200,000 to make! The song peaked at #3 in the UK (#1 in the U.S.) and was the title-track and second single from Jackson's seventh studio album. "Bad" was the follow-up to the #1 single "I Just Can't Stop Loving You" (ft. Siedah Garrett), which reached #1 in both the UK and U.S.

In the video, we see another one of Michael Jackson's legendary and comprehensive dance routines with backup dancers, this time set in a subway station. It was influenced by West Side Story, and the full video (above) is an 18 minute mini movie and was directed by Michael Scorcese, taking six weeks to complete. Wesley Snipes also features in the film before he became a big star.

Jackson is trying his hardest to look like a bad boy, but despite the rocked-up black leather, studs and buckles, he was never going to be that convincing for me, and I found his edgier image hard to swallow. It's a fun look, nonetheless, and the dance routines are sensational.

Produced by Quincy Jones, the "Bad" single was initially written by Jackson to be performed as a duet with Prince, but, sadly, the plan never came to fruition.

The single entered the UK singles chart at No.5 on Sept 20th 1987, and climbed to No.3 on the Sept 27th chart, remaining there for for two weeks.

Overall, an incredible nine singles were released from the Bad album with five of them topping the Billboard Hot 100. Released in August 1987, Bad became Michael Jackson's second best-selling album (after Thriller) and sold over 30 million copies worldwide. 


UK 7 Inch vinyl (Epic) - 651155 7

A. Bad - 4:05

B. Bad (Dance Remix Radio Edit) - 4:50

U.S. 7 Inch vinyl (Epic) - 

U.S. 12 inch vinyl (Epic) - 49 07462

A1. Bad (Dance Extended Mix includes 'False Fade') - remixed by Bruce Swedien           - 8:24

A2. Bad (7" Single Mix) - 4:05

B2. Bad (Dance Remix Radio Edit) - remixed by Bruce Swedien - 4:50

B2. Bad (Dub Version) - 4:05

B3. Bad (A Cappella) - 3:49

UK 12 inch vinyl (Epic) - 651155 6

A. Bad (Dance Mix Extended includes 'False Fade') - 8:24

B1. Bad (Dub Version) - 4:05

B2. Bad (A Cappella) - 3:49

Michael Jackson