Whitesnake - 70s and 80s Songs and Albums

By Mark Nobes

Firstly, we've now added a playlist of the band's six biggest hit songs, and all the video clips are official.
Whitesnake are an English band formed by the former Deep Purple frontman David Coverdale in 1978. Indeed, Whitesnake's earlier albums did sound rather similar to the blues rock of Coverdale's former band. However, the band took on a more commercial rock sound during the 1980s, and with this came bigger chart success. Please note that all chart positions shown on this page are for the UK charts.
The band's biggest hits are "Fool For Your Loving", "Don't Break My Heart Again", "Still of the Night", "Here I Go Again '87", "Is This Love" and "Give Me All Your Love".

Trouble (1978)

Released in October 1978 by EMI, Trouble was Whitensake's debut studio album, reaching No.50 in the UK album charts. Eight out of the ten tracks were written by or partly written by David Coverdale. Track 4 was a cover of The Beatles "Day Tripper" penned by Lennon and McCartney, which was released as the third single. "Lie Down (A Modern Love Song)" and "The Time Is Right For Love" were also released as singles.

Lovehunter (1979)

The second album was released a year later in October 1979 on the United Artists record label, reaching No.29 in the UK. The album sleeve proved to be controversial as it featured erotic artwork by Chris Achilleos, which shows a naked woman straddling a big snake. Coverdale and guitarists Bernie Marsden and Micky Moody had a hand in composing the majority of tracks on the album. "Long Way From Home" was the only track released as a single, which reached #55 in the UK.

Ready 'An Willing (1980)

Still with United Artists, the band released their third studio album on 31st May 1980. Peaking at No.6 in the UK, it was the first of six consecutive albums to reach the top 10, and the first to receive a gold certificate from the British Phonographic Industry (BPI). It was also the first album not to feature a snake, instead featuring the band. The nine track LP includes the singles "Fool For Your Loving" (#13) and "Ready 'An Willing" (#43).

Come 'An Get It (1981)

The fourth studio album was released on the Liberty record label on 11th April 1981, reaching No.2 in the UK, making it the band's highest-charting album and also receiving a gold certificate from the BPI. However, in terms of sales, their self-titled 1987 album was the best-selling, achieving Platinum. Two tracks were released as singles; "Don't Break My Heart Again" (#17) and "Would I Lie To You" (#37).
The cover art featured a snake in an apple with a forked tongue resembling a vagina. The album was kept off the No.1 spot by Adam and The Ants Kings of the Wild Frontier.

Saints and Sinners (1982)

The band's fifth studio album was released on Nov 25th 1982, reaching No.8 in the UK and achieving silver. However, during the recording of the album in 1981, tensions were growing within the band, and Micky Moody quit in December. Bernie Marsden, Neil Murray and Ian Paice also quit in 1982, leaving just Coverdale and keyboardist Jon Lord. Coverdale persuaded Moody to sing backing vocals so that the album could be completed in Autumn of '82. Whitesnake recruited three new members; Mel Galley (guitarist), Rainbow drummer Cozy Powell, and bassist Colin Hodkinson.  


"Here I Go Again" originally featured on the album Saints & Sinners and was released as a single in November 1982, peaking at #34 in the UK singles chart. Personally, I feel that the original song is so much better than that remixed version, which has way too much reverb for my liking, but that's the 80s for you. Producers did tend to get carried away with the reverb button on quite a number of 80s songs I could mention, which could lead to a slightly muddy sound.

The song was re-recorded by Whitesnake for their best-selling, self-titled studio album which went Platinum in the UK, 5x Platinum in Canada and 8x Platinum in the U.S. "Here I Go Again '87" was the first single to be released from the album and reached #1 in the Billboard Hot 100, #1 in Canada and #9 in the UK. 

Whitesnake - Here I Go Again Vinyl

Slide It In (1984)

The band's sixth studio album was released on 30th Jan 1984, reaching No.9 in the UK. The UK release was a remixed version of the U.S. album released by Geffen Records, which was released later on April 16th 1984. Although Mick Moody stayed with the band until the recording of the album was complete, he left soon afterwards, unhappy with Coverdale's attitude towards him. He claimed that Coverdale no longer conversed with him or socialised with him, and that his personality had changed. Moody was replaced by guitarist John Sykes.
The album included five singles; "Guilty of Love" (#31), "Give Me More Time" (#29), "Standing in the Shadow" (#62), "Love Ain't No Stranger" (#44), and "Slow 'An Easy" (failed to chart).

Whitesnake (1987)

The band's seventh studio album (released on 7th April 1987 by EMI in the UK) became their best-selling, achieving 8 x platinum from the RIAA in America, 5 x platinum from Music Canada (MC), and 1 x platinum from the BPI here in the UK. Singles included "Still of the Night" (#16), "Here I Go Again '87" (#9), "Is This Love" (#9), and "Give Me All Your Love" (#18).
Cozy Powell left the group after their 1985 Slide It In Tour, and Coverdale was seriously considering calling it a day. However, the bosses at Geffen Records in the U.S. persuaded him to work with guitarist John Sykes to create another album. Bassist Neil Murray also helped to arrange the songs. The North American version of the album includes 9 tracks, whereas the European and UK release including 11 tracks.

Slip of the Tongue (1989)

Released on 18th Nov 1989, the band's eight studio album was not as successful as their previous album, but still managed a respectable gold certificate from the BPI, reaching No.10. It also achieved platinum from the RIAA in the U.S. It was the last Whitesnake album to receive any certificates.
The singles were also less successful, which were "Fool For Your Loving '89" (#43), "The Deeper The Love" (#34) and "Now You're Gone" #31.
Guitarist Vivian Campbell had already left the group after their last tour, and David Coverdale worked with guitarist Adrian Vandenberg writing tracks for Slip of the Tongue. However, due to an injury which required surgery, Vandenberg was unable to play on the album, so Coverdale roped in Steve Vai (previously with David Lee Roth), who also went on tour with the Whitesnake during 1990.

Further Albums

Restless Heart (1997) #34

Good To Be Bad (2008) #7

Forevermore (2011) #33

The Purple Album (2015) #18

Flesh & Blood (2019) #7